The Chairman's Award




2021 No Award
2021 Mr. Titian Scholtemeyer See his nomination letter here
2020 Mr Bernald S Smith Even in the twilight of his illustrious SSA career, Bernald Smith continues to be a tireless supporter in advocating on behalf of the SSA and its members. His diligence in pursuing and advocating for the interests of our members across the spectrum of topics exemplifies a form of volunteerism that is fading away. Bernald’s decades of service to the SSA has resulted in his recognition as a member of the Soaring Hall of Fame (1984), twice received the Eaton Memorial Trophy (1977, 1997), and the Paul Schweizer Lifetime Service Award (2002). Others may take his place; they will not replace him.
2019 Mr. Scott Manley Scott Manley was chosen for this award because of the enormous contributions he has made in bringing simulation-based glider training to the soaring world. Starting in 2010 Scott began Condor Corner in Soaring magazine in which he presented the idea that Condor, a soaring simulator, could be used to enhance training outcomes. He has presented talks and demonstrations on the use of simulation-based training at multiple SSA conventions and also at the Experimental Aircraft Association convention at Oshkosh, WI. Scott is a regular fixture in the SSA booth at EAA Airventure each year and has shared the joy of soaring via simulation with literally hundreds of people there. With over 2,000 hours of simulation-based glider training given, today he continues to dedicate himself to his students via distance learning. On behalf of the SSA, instructors who currently use his lesson plans, pilots and students who have benefited and will continue to benefit in the future from his efforts, Thank You Scott!
2017 Mr. Guy Ford Byars Guy Ford Byars is presented the 2017 SSA Chairman’s Award for his development and support of the Winscore contest scoring program. Guy developed this scoring program over 15 years ago in order to simplify and standardize the scoring of SSA sanctioned contests. He has worked diligently to update the program annually as contest rules evolved. He has been responsive to requests from the SSA Rules Committee and has provided terrific support to contest scorers. During 2017 he was especially supportive with multiple updates and improvements. On behalf of the SSA, contest pilots, scorers, and contest organizers – Thank You!
2015 Mr Bob Carlton Bob is being recognized for his successful efforts negotiating with the FAA to find a means of extending the service life of the Centrair Pegasus 101 gliders beyond the 3,000 hour limit. We appreciate Bob’s efforts on this matter.
2014 No Award
2013 Ms. Michelle Sorenson
2012 Ms Denise Layton
2011 Ms. Dianne Black-Nixon
2009 Barron Hilton
2006 Ms Denise Layton
2005 Ms. Dianne Black-Nixon
2000 Lt Col Russell Maclean
2000 Mr. Joseph Medlin
2000 Mr. Joseph G. Pacheco