The Paul E. Tuntland Memorial Award




2019 No Awards
2017 Mr. Tony Condon
2016 No Award
2015 No Award
2014 No Award
2013 Dr Daniel L. Johnson Dr. Daniel L. Johnson began submissions of Soaring RX, as a columnist to Soaring Magazine, in April of 2011. An early comment in his writing was that submissions would continue as long as the author or the audience felt there was value being published for the audience of pilots. Dr. Johnson's writing style often masks his drawing from personal experience as a springboard for topics to review. His first reference to a personal flying episode and the subsequent article on visual scanning techniques was in July 2011. The collection of illustrations made the grasp of field of view at soaring distances for VFR traffic separation "visually" distinct. January of 2013's column on 'Mindset' addresses expectations, experience and habits, drawing on his own and others misadventures to offer a personal touch to impress relevance through emotional impact. March's column, 'Attention vs. Skill', has references to Dan's training perceptions. April's 'What Shivering Means' includes a mention of heat loss through the scalp and his use of a hat for insulation. Fortunately, there is no personal experience by the author for the May 'A Thunderstorm Commotion' on loss of consciousness, and I doubt there is a personal aspect to the subsequent column of pregnancy and flying! July 2013's review of the FAA's medical certification process stems from Dr. Johnson's status as an Aviation Medical Examiner, and we benefited from his resection of the program upgrades. August's column 'Secret Betrayal', mentions Dan's experiences both in flight and in city traffic. In short, Dr. Johnson's articles are a service to the soaring pilot, through logically and rationally injecting humor, personality and science in a palatable form, with in-depth technical references as footnotes, to expand our understanding of flight physiology, and in advancing the understanding of personal actions and health in flight safety.
2012 No Award
2011 No Award
2010 No Award
2009 Mr. Frank Paynter
2009 Mr. Mark Hawkins
2008 No Award
2007 Mr Richard H Johnson
2006 Mr Kempton I. Izuno
2005 Mr. Leo Benetti-Longhini
2004 Mr Kempton I. Izuno For his March 25,2004, 10.3 hour 1,023.5 s.m (1,647 kIn) 3 turn point distance flight (ASH-26E) described in his article in the Soaring Magazine October 2004 issue.
2003 Mr Kevin B Kochersberger
2003 Dr. Edward E. Hindman
2002 No Award
2001 No Award
2000 Mr Richard H Johnson
1999 No Award
1998 Mr Peter A Williams
1997 No Award
1996 No Award
1995 Mr Richard H Johnson
1994 No Award
1993 No Award
1992 No Award
1991 No Award
1990 No Award
1989 No Award
1988 No Award
1987 Mr. Alex Strojnik
1986 No Award
1985 No Award
1984 Mr James M Payne
1983 Mr Richard H Johnson
1982 Mr. George J. Vakkur
1981 No Award
1980 Dr. David Marsden
1979 Mr Richard H Johnson
1978 NASA/FAA/SSA Team
1977 Mr Richard H Johnson
1976 Mr Oran W Nicks
1975 No Award
1974 Mr Robert T Lamson
1973 No Award
1972 Mr Alcide Santilli
1971 Mr Paul F Bikle
1970 Mr Paul F Bikle
1969 No Award
1968 Pat Beatty
1968 Fritz Johl
1967 Mr Alan C Bemis
1966 No Award
1965 No Award
1964 Hans Zacher
1963 Mr Paul F Bikle
1962 No Award
1961 No Award
1960 Harland C. Ross
1959 Dewey J. Mancuso
1958 No Award
1957 Mr. Stan Smith
1956 Mr Paul MacCready Jr.
1955 Mr. Joachim P Kuettner
1954 Harold E. Klieforth
1953 Mr. Joachim P Kuettner
1952 August Raspet